Always Bring Your Best Self to Work

“Always bring
your best self
to work”

Well, fuck that.

When am I
ever my
best self?

When am I
permitted
to be

human? Flawed
that I am,
I’m me;

with chagrin
and glory
to spare.

All my days
fluctuate
between

binaries
and borders,
pick your

metaphor.
I’m a man
who bleeds

and courts his
insecurities

with flowers
and candy
and tends

to them with
tender love-
ing care.

I love my
progeny
and wife;

I whore my
time so they
might eat

and play and
lodge and want
for lack.

I doubt my
doubts; always
unsure

that I’ve no
certainty
with which

to believe
and conclude
in. Shit.

(on King John’s
alabaster
privy)

Best self, worst
self, it’s all
the same,

living as
a human
being.

I am flawed
I am man
I’m me.

(featured image source)

Blank Verse, , ,

Express Thyself!

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close